my tach

Have a question that your not sure what category it fits into or isn't really a specific question about a specific part? Ask it here...
97neon06
1GN Registrant
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:46 pm

my tach

Post by 97neon06 » Tue Mar 13, 2007 8:56 pm

ok im hooking up an aftermarket 5in tach and its wierd b/c i have the power and negative hooked up that works fine.... now i lost my instructions but it has three gauges in side the tach and theres five remaining wires.... and when i touch 2 of them it lights up and i touched each of the remaining wires the the signal wire and i get nothing..... any suggestions??/

User avatar
Jordan2.4
1GN Registrant
Posts: 716
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Maryland

Re: my tach

Post by Jordan2.4 » Tue Mar 13, 2007 9:09 pm

97neon06 wrote:ok im hooking up an aftermarket 5in tach and its wierd b/c i have the power and negative hooked up that works fine.... now i lost my instructions but it has three gauges in side the tach and theres five remaining wires.... and when i touch 2 of them it lights up and i touched each of the remaining wires the the signal wire and i get nothing..... any suggestions??/

What brand/model number is the tach?
Jordan
Image
sweetcorn_w00t wrote:
Now you can tell me that I've failed at life, I'm gay, and that my dad should have pulled when he pushed; since you won't be able to think of anything else.

neofreak
1GN Registrant
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 9:11 pm
Location: PA

Post by neofreak » Wed Mar 14, 2007 11:08 am

Do you have a tach driver?

acr star
1GN Registrant
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:31 pm
Location: kansas

Post by acr star » Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:52 pm

if its going in a 1gn u dont need a tach driver. Call the comp. you got the tach from and ask for tech help or a copy of wiring diagram
Image

User avatar
das2123
1GN Registrant
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: Spring, TX

Post by das2123 » Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:48 pm

acr star wrote:if its going in a 1gn u dont need a tach driver.
Some 95's require them.
2003 SRT-4

FOR SALE POST

BlueR/T
1GN Registrant
Posts: 625
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: unknown

Post by BlueR/T » Wed Mar 14, 2007 8:18 pm

look at the wireing bundles that go to your stock cluster, on the right bundle there is a light blue wire with a light gray stripe, that is the tach signal wire

97neon06
1GN Registrant
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:46 pm

Post by 97neon06 » Wed Mar 14, 2007 9:12 pm

acr star wrote:if its going in a 1gn u dont need a tach driver. Call the comp. you got the tach from and ask for tech help or a copy of wiring diagram
i did they said they dont have one and to go and have it installed i laughed

97neon06
1GN Registrant
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:46 pm

Post by 97neon06 » Wed Mar 14, 2007 9:13 pm

BlueR/T wrote:look at the wireing bundles that go to your stock cluster, on the right bundle there is a light blue wire with a light gray stripe, that is the tach signal wire
i did that and i get nothing...

robert 'bob' paulson
1GN Registrant
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 7:18 pm
Location: Elmira Heights, NY

Post by robert 'bob' paulson » Wed Mar 14, 2007 9:31 pm

97neon06 wrote:
BlueR/T wrote:look at the wireing bundles that go to your stock cluster, on the right bundle there is a light blue wire with a light gray stripe, that is the tach signal wire
i did that and i get nothing...
give a brand name and model of the tach, like Jordan asked, and i'm sure someone could find a manual for it online.

User avatar
das2123
1GN Registrant
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: Spring, TX

Post by das2123 » Wed Mar 14, 2007 11:20 pm

Don't you have to cut the stock tach wire in order for an aftermarket tach to work?

I did with my 5" Autometer Monster Tach.
2003 SRT-4

FOR SALE POST

BlueR/T
1GN Registrant
Posts: 625
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: unknown

Post by BlueR/T » Wed Mar 14, 2007 11:44 pm

das2123 wrote:Don't you have to cut the stock tach wire in order for an aftermarket tach to work?

I did with my 5" Autometer Monster Tach.
yes, you have to cut it, you can't run both tachs at once from the stock wire, its one or the other

BTW i also have the autometer 5" tach

BlackRoseRacing
1GN Registrant
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:21 am
Location: WNY
Contact:

Post by BlackRoseRacing » Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:21 am

On a 2GN you can run both the aftermarket tach and the oe by taping into the wire on the coil pack. Im pretty sure it was the wire closest to the firewall.
http://forum.2gn.org/viewtopic.php?t=94 ... ch+install
Image
2GN.ORG Moderator

97neon06
1GN Registrant
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:46 pm

Post by 97neon06 » Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:09 am

its a cheapy from ebay... the three in one 5in monster tach made by jdm sport

User avatar
das2123
1GN Registrant
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: Spring, TX

Post by das2123 » Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:13 am

97neon06 wrote:its a cheapy from ebay... the three in one 5in monster tach made by jdm sport
Cut the stock tach wire...you can't leave it intact.
BlueR/T wrote:
das2123 wrote:Don't you have to cut the stock tach wire in order for an aftermarket tach to work?
I did with my 5" Autometer Monster Tach.
yes, you have to cut it, you can't run both tachs at once from the stock wire, its one or the other

BTW i also have the autometer 5" tach
I don't have it anymore....sold it on ebay!
2003 SRT-4

FOR SALE POST

Lackof
1GN Registrant
Posts: 2599
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 10:24 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Post by Lackof » Thu Mar 15, 2007 12:19 pm

robert 'bob' paulson wrote:
97neon06 wrote:
BlueR/T wrote:look at the wireing bundles that go to your stock cluster, on the right bundle there is a light blue wire with a light gray stripe, that is the tach signal wire
i did that and i get nothing...
give a brand name and model of the tach, like Jordan asked, and i'm sure someone could find a manual for it online.
didn't smash post a how to about hooking on up a loooooong time ago at the speed?

I think it got lost when styl redid the forums.

Post Reply