Headlight cleaning.

Have a question that your not sure what category it fits into or isn't really a specific question about a specific part? Ask it here...
CgPeon
1GN Registrant

Headlight cleaning.

Post by CgPeon » Mon Feb 19, 2007 12:49 pm

I am new to the 1st gen community and I noticed my headlights are nasty as hell. I really don't want to spend $120 plus on a new set. I just want to clean them out. I want them to look new and be able to actually see inside the headlight. The turn signals are pretty bad too. :?

Any ideas on how to clean these buggers out?

Thanks.

vielecustoms
1GN Registrant

Post by vielecustoms » Mon Feb 19, 2007 1:39 pm

if they are yellow/ Hazy on the outside get some aluminum polish (I used mothers) and a rag ( or buffer but be careful around the rubber gasket around the light) and polish it and it cleans up real good. I did that on my neon and the windshield on my ZX 10. the window was so yellow you couldn't even see through it I was going to toss it and get a new one but it cleared right up with the aluminum polish and some elbow grease!

also you can use this on your taillights and indicators it makes em look brand new and shiny.

rdhzrd62902
1GN Registrant

Post by rdhzrd62902 » Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:41 pm

another thing that worked pretty good for me was meguiars plastiX works even better with a buffer
99 R/T iceman intake,UR UDP, solid mm's, depos, and some cruzer rims

fast4door171
1GN Registrant

Post by fast4door171 » Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:42 pm

yea same i used meguiars plastX and they turned out really good when i has stock ones i woudl recommend that for sure.

CgPeon
1GN Registrant

Post by CgPeon » Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:25 am

Any pictures what they look like when they are done? Does it pretty much make them look like new?

Lackof
1GN Registrant

Post by Lackof » Tue Feb 20, 2007 1:02 am

This is from when i still had my stock headlights