Page 1 of 1

Power swap

Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:01 am
by afireinside4848
My friends looking to throw me some money for a power windows/lock swap but I gotta know can it be swapped or do you need the whole door?

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:57 am
by uta_flyinghigh
IMHO it would be easier to just swap doors.

UTA

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:39 am
by afireinside4848
Don't believe I could find a black two door there.

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 1:00 pm
by robert 'bob' paulson
yes, it can be done. but in my opinion, if someone has to ask if something can be done, they don't have the ability to do it.

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 2:52 pm
by afireinside4848
Ha I've done alot without knowing where to start. I will know what to grab and how to hook up the electrical but I'm just making sure the motors will fit inside the non-power doors. There may be a black 2 door at the jy but idk if he will want to pay for the whole thing. I'll see how it turns out over the weekend.

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 7:38 pm
by Lackof
robert 'bob' paulson wrote:yes, it can be done. but in my opinion, if someone has to ask if something can be done, they don't have the ability to do it.
Wow, then this world would be absolutely nowhere.

It can be done the only problem that you will really have is just finding a spot to put the switches.
most people just put them by the e-brake or mock up the switches on the actual doors like the ones that do come with power options.
Search .org on it; plenty of info. about it.

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 11:13 pm
by afireinside4848
Ok I'll see what he'll do about the switches, maybe he'll get the whole panel. Thanks

Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:39 pm
by yarko
i just finished the power window swap yesterday,,,literally. I personally bought a parts car with the options. So i used the door panels with the power windows, locks and mirrors. As far as the doors i swapped the motors for the cranks. the power locks and the mirrors. The harness in the doors need to be swapped as well. My car is a 95 highline and to my suprise was 100% prewired. I found a circuit breaker that was empty under the dash, behind the fuse box that was clipped to the steel panel under the steering wheel. i put the 30 amp breaker in there and hooked up the door harness to the body harness (between door and body). BAM!! done!! everything worked. car was all prewired EXCEPT for the circuit breaker they left out of holder. Before you start cutting and splicing, look for these things. Its actually a very easy swap