just swapped for another stock motor and now it wont start

This is the place to ask questions about your engine components like cams, valves, pistons? just anything that is generally "engine" specific.
08kgraves
1GN Registrant
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 10:48 pm
Location: north central ohio

just swapped for another stock motor and now it wont start

Post by 08kgraves » Tue Aug 09, 2011 8:06 pm

ok so i have a 97 neon 2.0 sohc that snapped the timing belt. so i bought a 96 neon 2.0 sohc and put the engine in my 97. after alot of frustration i got the engine back in and now it wont start. and i have no clue why. when i crank it over then let off i hear a small puff out of the exhaust. and it is getting spark and fuel but it wont start still. does anyone have any ideas? are the sensors interchangable between a 97 and a 96? i used my coil pack and upstreem 02 sensor since the connectors were diffrent but everything else all all plugged right in. any ideas anyone? part of me wants to just throw some dynamite in it right now lol.

User avatar
BaLLisTiK
1GN Registrant
Posts: 661
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 10:31 pm
Location: New Port Richey, FL

Post by BaLLisTiK » Tue Aug 09, 2011 8:34 pm

Im not sure that all the sensors are the same.. While they may plug in, they may not be wired the same.
boostless_98 wrote:I want to hear wat everyone has to say on the idea of right hand drive neon conversion. I know it can be gotten from australia.
Ianguilly wrote:Just drive from the passenger side.

08kgraves
1GN Registrant
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 10:48 pm
Location: north central ohio

Post by 08kgraves » Tue Aug 09, 2011 9:20 pm

know any way i can find out?

08kgraves
1GN Registrant
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 10:48 pm
Location: north central ohio

Post by 08kgraves » Tue Aug 09, 2011 11:54 pm

well i did some research and found out that the cam sensor is diffrent between the two years. so im going to switch that out tomorrow and hopefully it will start then. looks like all the other sensors i used are the same though. but i only used the block, head, and exhaust manifold from the 96. i used my intake, throttle body, and fuel rail from my 97 so i should be good hopefully after this.

2drSRT4
1GN Registrant
Posts: 853
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: El Paso, TX

Post by 2drSRT4 » Wed Aug 10, 2011 1:30 am

Just use all your 97 sensors, and it should work. If it isn't starting and you're getting spark and fuel, are you getting compression?
Image
Image

08kgraves
1GN Registrant
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 10:48 pm
Location: north central ohio

Post by 08kgraves » Wed Aug 10, 2011 5:01 pm

well i found out the timing is off. i somehow missed a step when i did it. its like 3 teeth off. which was still enough i could spin it over by hand without hitting the valves but had i started it they probly would have bent. any easy tricks to changeing the timing belt in car?

2drSRT4
1GN Registrant
Posts: 853
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: El Paso, TX

Post by 2drSRT4 » Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:13 pm

Jeff Ball has an entire timing belt change write-up. If I can find the write-up, I'll post a link..
Image
Image

User avatar
BaLLisTiK
1GN Registrant
Posts: 661
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 10:31 pm
Location: New Port Richey, FL

Post by BaLLisTiK » Thu Aug 11, 2011 12:16 am

Haynes manual taught me how to do my belt..
boostless_98 wrote:I want to hear wat everyone has to say on the idea of right hand drive neon conversion. I know it can be gotten from australia.
Ianguilly wrote:Just drive from the passenger side.

2drSRT4
1GN Registrant
Posts: 853
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: El Paso, TX

Post by 2drSRT4 » Thu Aug 11, 2011 12:52 am

BaLLisTiK wrote:Haynes manual taught me how to do my belt..
And I tought myself how to do it... But Jeff Ball did a write up specifically on a SOHC
Image
Image

2drSRT4
1GN Registrant
Posts: 853
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: El Paso, TX

Post by 2drSRT4 » Thu Aug 11, 2011 12:53 am

Image
Image

08kgraves
1GN Registrant
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 10:48 pm
Location: north central ohio

Post by 08kgraves » Thu Aug 11, 2011 2:18 am

didnt read it all just kind of browsed through quick but looks like a great wright up thanks for the link

08kgraves
1GN Registrant
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 10:48 pm
Location: north central ohio

Post by 08kgraves » Thu Aug 11, 2011 8:28 pm

well it was a great help. so here is the good news....... the car now runs. here is the bad news....... apperently is still out of time. must only be by one tooth. i got it running filled all my fluids and what not then rocked it hoodless about 15 miles to the parts store. seemed to be running fine. ran the codes and it said timing belt jumped by one or more teeth. so i cleared the code and figured maybe it was still in there from when it did jump. went down the road to another parts store and light came on again. scanned code and same thing. so i must have got it off by just one tooth or something. but on bright side atleast it runs.

2drSRT4
1GN Registrant
Posts: 853
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: El Paso, TX

Post by 2drSRT4 » Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:35 am

Is your tensioner good? Is the belt good? Check both of those. I bet the code is still there from when you tried starting it before. Just unplug the battery for about 10 minutes, and then when you re-start it, it should learn the correct value.
Image
Image

08kgraves
1GN Registrant
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 10:48 pm
Location: north central ohio

Post by 08kgraves » Fri Aug 12, 2011 1:09 am

belt is brand new. and tensioner was still good. but it shouldnt come back on after i shut the code off with a scanner. it wasnt just a cheap ass one that autozone uses when i reset the first time. it was a $500 scanner

2drSRT4
1GN Registrant
Posts: 853
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: El Paso, TX

Post by 2drSRT4 » Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:38 pm

It doesn't matter what you clear it with, you need to reset the computer. It has the values from when you attempted to crank it. So it'll use those values to compare to the current values, and send the timing belt code. Reset the computer and see what happens after that.
Image
Image

Post Reply